Pedalling to NYC

OK, not the whole way, just to the airport. 

As I mentioned in my earlier post, I will be in New York City Monday through Wednesday at a pedestrian safety summit. I know I was all hyped to rent a cool vintage bike, but the cheap South Side Polack in me decided I should take the folding bike to save a few bucks.  Not as cool as those rentals I know, but it will also save me the going to get a rental bike and returning it.  

I timed myself breaking down the Dahon and putting it together: 10 minutes.  So although that is no 15 second Brompton fold, it is really not much of an inconvenience.  I also decided to ride my Schwinn Dutch conversion bike to the airport and haul the Dahon in a Burley trailer. This saves me one break down and one build.  

Riding the full-sized bike the 12 miles to the airport means I can leave a few minutes later. I have to be at the airport at 5:30am, so every minute longer I get to sleep is important. This also means I don't have to worry about getting my hands dirty before the flight.

 

I will be bringing my computer along and will try to post something from New York each day, but I can’t promise it.  If not, I will have loads of good stuff to post beginning Thursday.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pedalling to NYC

  1. michael hopp says:

    you can leave a bike and trailer parked at the milwaukee airport for 3 days?

Leave a Reply

