This Sat., March 19th: OTB Spring Classics Ride #1: Milwaukee-Belgium-Milwaukee

Too bad, but it looks like the weather this Saturday will offer few opportunities for mud.

That’s right, it’s time to release your inner Belgian.  For those of us who will not make it to the Ronde van Vlaanderen (Tour of Flanders) or any of the other great spring classics for that matter, this is our chance to bust out our favorite old wool jersey and pedal to Belgium (Belgium, Wisconsin that is). The ride there and back will be between 90 and 100 miles.  The pace will be conversational, but not dawdling (15mph-20mph). I plan on leaving around 8am.  I am willing to swing by Hollander on Downer to meet any east side riders who want to ride along.

It took me about 3 months, but I grew out my sideburns just for this ride.

This will be my longest ride of the season by oh, about 80 miles, so I have no illusions of stomping it. Not a pedal will be turned in anger and it is NOT a race. If you want to start with me and then go hard, feel free to come along. If it is dry I will probably ride my now vintage Trek US Postal road bike, a full-on race bike.  If it is wet I will ride my ’86 Trek 620 touring bike with fenders and a dyno hub. You of course can ride whatever you want, there are no bike rules or clothing rules on this ride.  The only rule is you gotta get home on your own.  If you are doubtful that you can make the full 90, feel free to join me and just peel off early, even if you only want to ride 20 or 30 miles.

You could substitute pickled herring if you want to localize your snack.

I have a tentative route that heads from my house to the East Side and then up the Oak Leaf to the Ozaukee Interurban to Belgium. It looks like Curley’s, the Luxemburger Restaurant right along the trail in Belgium is closed.  If it is, we will try to grab decent food somewhere else along the trail, but everyone should bring something to eat just in case.  I suggest little Sardine sandwiches on french bread or perhaps brioche for easier chewing. Sadly, the weather is supposed to be 50 degrees and sunny, quite unBelgian-like. Please RSVP via the comments below if you want to join me.  Feel free to invite your crew as well, the more the merrier. My mobile number is 414-736-2209 if you decide at the last-minute that you want to come. I am fighting a tiny bit of a cold right now.  If it gets worse instead of better I would either skip or shorten my ride. I will let people know by Friday if that happens.

Departure: 8am, 2205 N 59th St.

Return: mid to late afternoon.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in OTB Spring Classic Series, Rides. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to This Sat., March 19th: OTB Spring Classics Ride #1: Milwaukee-Belgium-Milwaukee

  1. M holloway says:

    Thanks for organizing. I can’t join you but ease keep me on the list….52 a transportation bike group

  2. Geoff says:

    Curleys is now Chrisseys and is open

  3. Russell says:

    Odds are favoring my appearance on this adventure.

    It is an adventure, right?

  4. Gary Johnson says:

    Adventure is healthy, I’m in. Will your route be heading North on Lake Dr. past Atwater Beach?

    • daveschlabowske says:

      I’m sure we can come pretty clost by that way. Text me or email me your mobile number (daveschlabowske@yahoo.com) so we can be sure to meet. I was thinking of sticking to the Oak Leaf and then to either Range Line or Green Bay north the the Brown Deer Trail to the Interurban.

  5. jason says:

    Dave, My heart is telling me to ride with ya’ll on Sat, but the pinched nerve in my arm and numb fingers are telling me to sit this one out.:)

    • daveschlabowske says:

      Or you can ride along for 10 or 20 miles if you like. Shoot me a text Sat. am if you want to roll along for an hour or so.

  6. d'Andre Willis says:

    Can’t make it as I will be assisting with putting the dock in the water at the Milwaukee Rowing Club….this will provide all the mud, slime and dampness that you’ll be missing in your ride. But do email me if you end up having post-ride beers at Hollander. Have fun!

  7. Ralph in the U.P. says:

    Where were these rides when I lived in Milwaukee? Looks like a great one, have fun!

Leave a Reply

