Winter’s last dying gasp?

I hope so.  I enjoyed you winter, but you have overstayed your welcome. Milwaukee averages 2.6 inches of snow in April, but I’m sure we can all recall some big storm that dumped a ton of unwelcome powder to cool our spring fever.  Winter seemed to return yesterday as the rain changed to freezing sleet on my way to an after work meeting to discuss the Milwaukee Junior Cycling League.  By the time I got to the meeting at the Urban Ecology Center in Washington Park, my bike and the front half of my jacket were coated in ice. 

Biking through the snow on my way to work this morning. My toes got a little cold in the vintage Allen Edmunds reddish brown saddle shoes I got at an estate sale for $4. Yes I could have put on overshoes, but they just don’t look cool with jeans.

After last night’s winter ride home, I new it was going to be cold this morning, but I could not bring myself to fully accept the return of winter weather. Although my toes were cold because I refused to wear boots, I did not fully deny winter’s presence.  I wore a scarf, my long vintage trenchcoat with the liner zipped in (ala M.D.), mittens and my Outdoor Research Odd Job hat with the ear flaps down.  Were you shivering in denial this morning or did you give in and wear your long johns?

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in bike winter, commuting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter’s last dying gasp?

  1. Jason Capriotti says:

    I didn’t bike to work today (Thursday), but did on Wednesday. I left work at 5:30pm last night and rather enjoyed seeing people scraping the layer of tough ice off their cars. Not in a mean sort of way… it just made me appreciate how easy it is to bike to work.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      I saw the same thing and wanted to say “I never have to scrape my windshield” but thought better of it.

  2. still rollin says:

    No long Johns, but I commute a little later in the AM than you do. I actually had to take my hat off, too sweaty. London Fog got me home in the ice last night and back to work this am. In my opinion the long coat keeps the legs warm down to about 10 degrees. Made it through the entire winter without a single fall…winning duh!

    • daveschlabowske says:

      I agree with the long cut London Fog keeping the legs warm and dry, but in windy weather they blow back. I have been toying with the idea of adding leg ties similar to a waxed cotton duster riding coat. It would be a simple thing to sew on.

  3. Paula says:

    Dave, I love your posts about the rides to work…..even more so the descriptions of your riding attire. I believe you are a true renaissance man!

  4. Casey says:

    You know me, Dave: long johns from September through May no matter what. You can never be too safe.

  5. michael hopp says:

    minneapolis got 5 inches of new snow this week. i just ordered a 9:zero:7 frame.

    http://www.fatbikes.com/

  6. Jake Newborn says:

    i put back on the long johns. and will probably wear em for the MMI this weekend too

Leave a Reply

