Local 52 meeting and new logos

In yesterday’s post I noted that according to the latest National Household Transportation Survey, the majority of bicycle trips in the US are for transportation rather than recreation.  Weather it is a sign from above or simply serendipity, 52% of bicycle trips in the US are now utilitarian in nature. That fact combined with a bunch of cool new Local 52 logos I received from our designer Ben Halpin prompted me to schedule another meeting of the Bicycle Federation Local 52 for next Monday at 5:30pm at Cafe Hollander on Downer. This is short notice, so no big deal if you can’t make it, but Ben might actually be able to bike down from Mequon that day and I’d like to meet him in person.

RSVP if you think you can make the meeting.  I will at Hollander from 5-7 pm to eat and partake in a beverage or two.  Here are the most recent logos.  Waddaya think?

And how about one of these?

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Advocacy, Local 52 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Local 52 meeting and new logos

  1. Craig Posselt says:

    I am looking forward to making my first meeting. Thanks.

  2. andy says:

    What happened to the logos we agreed on at the last meeting? The ones with spokes that were dark grey and white? I liked the other version much more. I thought we were getting a new version of that.

  3. Sam Dodge says:

    I should be there, missed the last meeting sadly.

  4. Benhalpin says:

    The latest versions of logos tell a better story. They say “bicycle” without even having to read the copy, which is subjective I suppose. But in my opinion they do a better and quicker job labeling a bicycle network better than the latest batch.

  5. CK says:

    Do you have other agenda items other than the logo discussion?

    • daveschlabowske says:

      Yes, I want to discuss becoming an official dues paying chapter of the Bicycle Federation of WI and what that might entail. I think discussing a summer ride schedule is also a possible topic. Plus anything anyone else wants to talk about as well.

  6. Claus says:

    Those all look sweet!

  7. Will says:

    Those are the best logos yet, like others have said they scream bicycle. That would look very nice on many different applications, tshirt, mechanic shirt, even a polo for the business casual advocates.

    I should be able to make it on monday.

  8. Dan says:

    RSVP — Yes! See you on Monday.

  9. d'Andre says:

    I think I’ll be able to make it as well. Hoping that Fat Tires are on the agenda…or at least the tap. Really like the logos – all the other “locals” will be so jealous that Milwaukee nabbed Local 52.

  10. Barry Stuart says:

    I have to pass on this meeting because it conflicts with the BVBC UPAF Ride for the Arts bike marshals meeting. See you all on the Hoan!

  11. Gary Johnson says:

    See you this evening.

Leave a Reply

