Electra Bicycles Gets It, So I got one.

I was on my way to get donuts one morning a year ago when I saw the Amsterdam in the window at Johnson’s Cycle and Fitness on North, across from Cranky Al’s.  I was blown away with how cool it was, how it captured the essence of Dutch bikes at an affordable price.  The Amsterdam totally took me back to the Netherlands (without the legalized prostitution and pot) so on a spontaneous whim, I pulled out the credit card and rode my donuts home by bike.  So I know Electra gets me and the whole urban slow bike/cyclechic movement.  

But I just noticed that they also get the style of riding most prevalent in Amsterdam, not just the style of bikes.  This is from Electra’s blog:

Yes, I Bike in High Heels

Riding a bicycle isn’t synonymous with spandex outfits. Don’t get me wrong, I own a few drawers full of spandex, but I reserve those for full-day rides that get me from one county to the next. For the other 25 days each month, I ride my bicycle wearing whatever makes me feel good.

And yes, most often that’s my high heels.

My Electra bicycle is more than a mode of transportation. It’s a must-have accent piece for any outfit. A sundress with flip-flops, a business suit with pumps or skinny jeans with stilettos – my Ticino pairs with them all. If I’m going to look that good, the last thing I want to do is sit cramped in my car, waiting in traffic. I’d rather jump on the saddle of a beautifully crafted bicycle and navigate the streets sporting a get-up-and-go sense of style paired with a bit of fresh air.

So, Lance Armstrong, you can keep the super slick stretchy outfits to win the Tour de France. And I’ll take my high heels to win the Tour de Commuter.

San Diego Ambassador
Jamie Ortiz, Communications Director at San Diego Coastkeeper

About Jamie
I was born to ride. I didn’t figure it out until I was in my 20s, when my move to San Diego forced me to quit my Honda habit. Since selling my car and buying my first bicycle, I have fallen in love with the two-wheeled commute. Nothing beats the wind on my face, the strong muscles in my legs and the freedom to blow past rush hour traffic. I’ve ridden my bicycle more than 1,400 miles along the Pacific Coast. And a century is just a little something I do on a Saturday morning. But nothing can replace my all-time favorite bicycle trip – a casual ride to get a hot cup of tea.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Bicycles, Bike clothing, Women and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Electra Bicycles Gets It, So I got one.

  1. Jamie Ortiz says:

    Dave– Love the blog. Thanks for including my post from Electra’s site. I share your sentiment that more people in the US need to bring on the Amsterdam biking culture. We get a lot of competitors here, but not so many cyclists that embody the true spirit of just getting out on two wheels to have fun and enjoy the fresh air. Keep up the good work on your blog and on spreading the joy of cycling.

    -Jamie Ortiz

  2. daveschlabowske says:

    You are most welcome Jamie. My wife, daughter and I all love our Electra Amsterdam. In fact, our Mayor just broke his hand and needed a bike with a coaster brake to lead the Milwaukee bike to work with the Mayor ride because he could not use a hand brake. So I got him an Amsterdam from local bike shop (Crank Daddys). The Mayor complimented the bike, featured in front of the podium, during the post ride press conference.

    But as much as Dutch bikes are cool and practical, we need to break through the lycra curtain so more people feel they can just get on a bike and go somewhere without calling themself a “cyclist” or putting on a special bicycle outfit.

    Nice to hear from the San Diego cyclechic contingent…

Leave a Reply

