A Picture of Summer

Looks almost too pretty to eat, but at the same time this photo makes me hungry.

All work week I look forward to Wednesdays and going to the Westown Farmers Market in Zeidler Park.  Zeidler Park is a bit too far from my office to walk, eat and shop, over my 45 minute lunch break.  I have plenty of time to do all that if I ride a bike.  One more reason why bikes should rule the city center. 

During the summer and fall, we try to eat all local foods, and we get most of our produce from the various farmers markets close to work or home.  Most of the farmers at the smaller markets seem to be Hmong.  They have added cutural diversity and a diversity well beyond the traditional US produce.  Hmong immigrants often came to the US with great agricutural skills.  The plethora of local markets and innexpensive urban garden plots offered a natural economic opportunity for the new immigrants.

The Westown Farmers Market offered me an opportunity to get beautiful locally grown peaches.  I had some of them this morning for breakfast with cream from some great Wisconsin cows, yum. 

I usually run into someone I know at the market.  Wednesday it was Beth Nichols, the Executive Director of Milwaukee Downtown, Business Improvement District 21.  Beth is a great personality and super cheerleader for Downtown Milwaukee.  She called me out to tell me how much she liked Oma and to tell me her daughter is moving to Amsterdam to play professional basketball in the Netherlands, pretty cool.  I guess mom will be pretty familiar with Dutch bikes soon.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Rides and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Picture of Summer

  1. Here is the original text. It was caches in my google reader feed:

    Looks almost too pretty to eat, but at the same time this photo make me hungry.

    All work week I look forward to Wednesdays and going to the Westown Farmers Market in Zeidler Park.  Zeidler Park is on Michigan Avenue, and just a bit too far from my office to walk.  One more reason why bikes should rule the city center.  It is a perfect distance for a bike ride over my 45 minute lunch. 

    Most of the farmers are Hmong, who have added a wonderful diversity of new choices at our local farmers markets.  Many Hmong came to the United States with excellent agricultural skills.  The combination of those skills, the low annual cost to rent a stall at the numerous farmers markets and inexpensive community garden plots, creates economic opportunity for these recent immigrants. 

    It also created an opportunity for me to score some really good-looking and smelling peaches from one innovative Hmong farmer. I had them for breakfast this morning with good old-fashioned Wisconsin cream, yum.  During the summer it is really easy to eat nothing but food grown locally. The hard part is not buying too much because all that fresh produce looks so good. 

    There are also a number of really good food vendors at most farmers markets, and the Westown Market is no exception.  I typically either get a crepe or Mexican food for lunch.  Yesterday I ate a quick piece of pizza before I left the office (courtesy of the 9th floor soda club profits) because I was on a mission to restock the root cellar.

Leave a Reply

