Happy accidents and decisive moments

I have always tried to be thoughtful in my photography, maybe to a fault.  By that I mean, I think quite a bit about an image before I open the shutter.  Sometimes I think about a particular photograph I want to make for days before I actually put my eye to the viewfinder.  Sometimes all the planning and forethought makes for a nice image; other times my work looks contrived.  But even when I am trying to realize a preconceived idea, I try to remain open so I can adapt to unforseen conditions: too cloudy or too sunny, too windy or to calm, etc.  Despite my best efforts to adapt to changing situations, unforseen circumstances ruin many of my photos. But once in a while a happy accident occurs and I end up with a much better photograph than I ever imagined.

For a while now, I have wanted to make a low, wide angle, big sky, silhouette of Oma, just after sunrise.  I have been looking for a spot that has a clear view of the sky without a messy horizon, not all that easy to find in the City.  Yesterday I managed to get out of the house about the right time and there was a pretty nice sunrise.  I raced (so to speak, sorry Oma) to a spot I had scouted out in Washington Park, hoping to get there in time to capture the decent light.

I got there, jumped off the bike and started shooting.  I was experimenting with fill flash, no flash, and different shutter speed/f stops for a couple minutes when another bicyclist rode by through my shot. I never imagined another person in this photo, but rather than wait for him to ride by I kept shooting as fast as the little Panasonic Lumix LX3 would shoot (not very).  Part luck, part planning, I managed to capture this decisive moment.

Look for the sun.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy accidents and decisive moments

  1. jeffrey phelps says:

    That’s awesome Dave!

    Great blog and great photography as usual.

    jeff

Leave a Reply

