Heading to NYC: to rent or fold?

This is how the Dahon looks built up and pulling the DIY trailer I made for it.

 I have to go to New York City next Monday. I was all set to take to take my Dahon folding bike when I noticed that AirTran charges$20 for the first checked bag. So it will cost me $40 extra just to bring my folding bike, which is also kind of a pain to break down small enough to meet the 61 inch combined size airline baggage limits and to fit in the DIY trailer I made for it.

Although it is a minor pain to remove the wheels, handlebar and derailleur from the Dahon in order to make it shrink to a combined 60 inches, it is nice to be able to bike to and from the airport.

When the bike is built, the carry-on bag and jackets can go inside the large suitcase/trailer.

As long as I have to pay for checked bags (last time I fly AirTran. Frontier had the same flight with no fee), I did a quick check on rental bikes in Manhattan, and I came across Frank’s Bike Shop.  Go ahead and click on it, pretty low tech internet presence.  But the buried web treasue is their rental bike page, a rental bike heaven. It has to be one of the coolest collection of rental bikes this side of Russell‘s basement. 

I’m still up in the air, so to speak, about renting or taking a folder.  But if I do rent, here are a few of my top choices:

The Royal Master?

Schwinn Speedster?

Raleigh Sports?

Or the Schwinn Fastback?

So what do you think?  Bring the Dahon or rent a cool vintage bike?  I am guessing, that based on other rental fees in Manhattan, these bikes would rent for about $30 a day (I will call tomorrow to find out).  Leave a comment with your vote.  If you think I should rent, which bike should I get?

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Bicycles, Folding bicycles, Intermodal trips and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Heading to NYC: to rent or fold?

  1. kurt says:

    Rent. While you’ll need to take a train from the airport, no one looks good on a Dahon, and no one looks bad on a Speedster.

  2. Russell says:

    I say the Raleigh Tourist – http://www.franksbikes.com/37.JPG – the English take on the dutch city bike.

  3. Todd says:

    Its freakin Manhattan. Live like a native and just bring a good bolt cutter.

  4. Tim says:

    Hey, whatever happened to your Delta Airlines project?

  5. michael hopp says:

    renting the unicycle would leave you hands-free for a camera or a schlitz tall boy.

  6. Chris says:

    I think you should rent the Raleigh Sports.

  7. Pingback: Pedalling to NYC | Over the Bars in Milwaukee

  8. Mr. King says:

    although my personal fav is the fastback i think you might need a bit more comfort and perhaps a rack so i vote for the raleigh sports.

Leave a Reply

