Latest Update: Milwaukee Bike Map

Here are updated draft versions of the north and south sides of the 2011 Milwaukee by Bike map with all the corrections based on the comments I got.  Let me know via comment below if I forgot something or if you have a new suggestion.  It is quite helpful to have lots of eyes look at this, thanks. As with before, click on the images to view a large, high resolution PDF of each side of the map.

Click on the image to open a high res PDF of the north side of the 2011 map.

Click on the image to open a high res PDF of the south side of the 2011 map.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Bike facilities and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Latest Update: Milwaukee Bike Map

  1. adventure! says:

    Hey Dave, not that I can really comment on the map itself, since I have barely any familiarity with Milwaukee, but I just put two and two together:
    When I was planning on coming through Milwaukee a few years ago, I ordered the city bike map from you. I really appreciated your thorough directions and ideas for rides!

  2. Gary says:

    Hi Dave,

    It’s kind of nit-picky but I don’t like the oakleaf connection at 68th and loomis. The trail actually connects up to 68th street where you have to follow the road for a short distance, you cross Loomis and follow a path a short distance to the Root River Parkway. Are you using ArcMap? You could go to http://maps.milwaukeecounty.org/Geocortex/Essentials/Web/Viewer.aspx?Site=PUBLIC where you can zoom into the area you desire and take a snap shot (crtl/alt/print screen) and use the snapshot as a raster so you can just trace a line over the trails on the snapshot. In the Milwaukee County GIS site you would want to turn off the county parks and turn on the 2010 Aerial photos. Does that make sense?

    I have similar sentiments with the Harley Museum area but it is acurate enough.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      I am using ArcMap. I use the orthos as base maps for just that reason. The Oak Leaf file came from the County, so I just used it as they gave it to me. I made the corrections you noted though. I also cleaned up the Harley parking lot loop a bit. Thanks again. BTW. just curious, but where do you work that you have the GIS chops?

      • Gary says:

        Ah, I should have figured that you would have access to the orthos. I also see some text for the KK river trail, and also text for the south side trail by Baran Park. Is the KK river trail really supposed to be constructed this year? Don’t worry, I will find more stuff once this map is printed!

  3. Also in the category of “nit-picky,” I was wondering if you might move the label for Wisconsin Av. just west of Mayfair Rd. so it is more evident that Wisconsin is not a thru street. And, I’m curious why Brown Deer is the preferred road connecting from Range Line to Upper River, instead of continuing north on Range Line to Green Brook or County Line? Is this a River Hills municipal preference?

  4. Ryan Brown says:

    Greetings,
    I am a MKE native living in DC. If you are going to the National Bike Summit (3/8-3/10), I have a bike for you to borrow. I follow your blog at every post and am happy that you did not discontinue this very important hobby of yours. I lived in Washington Heights on 48th and Lloyd for years and find catharsis (or schafenfreud depending on the weather) hearing of your expolits. Please keep up the good work and please take me up on that loaner. I still got Wisconsin’s back.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      I will be at the bike summit, but I already have a loner bike lined up. And I want to make as much use of the Capital Bikeshare as I can while I am there. I lived on 54th and Lloyd for about 10 years. Now I live on 59th and Garfield. My mobile number is 414-736-2209, give me a call during the bike summit if you are around and want to meet. I am also going to the Pogues concert while I am there.

  5. Larry Weingarten says:

    Dave,

    I see you made the route over I-94 at Woods Cemetery “preferred”–I feel validated!

    Here is another suggestion, this time on the South Side:
    There is a pedestrian bridge over the railroad tracks at S 31st Street & Cleveland Avenue. It’s good connection to Montana St.
    http://maps.google.com/maps?f=q&source=s_q&hl=en&geocode=&q=3305+West+Forest+Home+Avenue,+Milwaukee,+WI&aq=2&sll=37.0625,-95.677068&sspn=37.188995,77.871094&ie=UTF8&hq=&hnear=3305+W+Forest+Home+Ave,+Milwaukee,+Wisconsin+53215&ll=42.995372,-87.953029&spn=0.002099,0.006797&t=h&z=18

    Back in the day, all two of us bike commuters who worked at Aurora’s office at 35th & Forest Home used it every day to head north. Not a big deal. There is nothing wrong with 29th Street. But, I always like know where I can go on a bike, or on foot, and a car can’t follow.

  6. Sonia says:

    We totally need to do this for Waukesha County. Where does the funding for your Milwaukee By Bike map come from?

    Incidentally, wouldn’t it be awesome if we could produce a map that included both Milwaukee and Waukesha Counties? And maybe throw in a little of Ozaukee and Washington County, too.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      At one point, the Waukesha Parks Dept. hired the BFW to make a bike map. We (Jack Hirt) did all the GIS work, but the Parks Dept. could never give us a dimension for the map final design. In the end we had to give them the GIS data and invoice them for the work we did, but they never completed the map. FYI, it costs Milwaukee about $6,500 for 30,000 maps, not including my time to design it.

      You know that you do have a map that covers Waukesha. It is made by Bike Everywhere out of Mpls, MN. Here is a link to the map:
      http://bikeverywhere.com/milwaukee_bike_map/

Leave a Reply

