Raleigh Sport

Here he is heading west on National just before turing south onto Barclay.

It really seems like I ought to know this guy.  Maybe I do and I just don’t know it. I am really bad with names and faces. I was looking at a possible route for the Bay View to Downtown Connector along Barclay Street when I noticed this dapper gent pedalling along the route I was reviewing.  He was quite engaged on his business phone call.  He was still talking when he headed south on 1st at Greenfield. Anybody recognize the gent on the vintage Raleigh Sport?

I love the old front chainrings that had the brand logo cut into them. Notice how clean this bike is.

 

I've always loved the transit bench built into the Allen Bradley Building at the corner of S 1st St. and Greenfield Ave.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Bike clothing, Bike facilities, commuting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Raleigh Sport

  1. Jake Newborn says:

    kinda stalkerish Dave…..

    • Ha, I was thinking the same thing. So, you followed him from Barclay & National to 1st and Greenfield taking multiple pictures, and you don’t think he was actually on the phone calling the cops?🙂

      • daveschlabowske says:

        I was evaluating an alternate route that WisDOT suggested for the Bay View to Downtown Connector. This guy was basically riding the route they suggested, and he was riding a cool bike in regular clothes while talking on a cell phone. It was my sworn duty to follow him. He did keep going, but I quit after he left the route I was evalutating.

  2. Chris K says:

    BTW Dave – what is the status of the Bay View to DT bike route/trail?

  3. Cool Hunter says:

    Hot.

  4. D'nardo Colucci says:

    Well you caught me Dave! It’s funny because when you took the photo in front of A-B I was saying to my work colleague “Dude, someone’s taking pictures of me.” I thought I was going to be the subject of an irate auto driver who thinks I should hang up and bike!

    Dave you’re a Milwaukee hero of mine. I am flattered to have made your blog.🙂

    BTW I love my 1967 Raleigh Sports – even though it’s converted to a 5-speed. But I REALLY miss my 1962 Rudge Sports which was stolen from in front of the Cudahy Towers last fall ;-(

    Again love your blog Dave,
    D’nardo
    PS. I have never in my life been called “dapper” – dim-witted, demented, yes. But never dapper.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      Glad to meet you, even if in passing. It looked to be a pretty sweet bike and quite well taken care of.

  5. DEDHED says:

    I’m assuming that it’s a S-5 Sturmey hub. What are you using for shifters, particularily the 2 speed. Just in case the ones on my Sprite break, I’ll know what to look for.

  6. D'nardo Colucci says:

    There are no markings whatsoever on the “left” shifter, but yes it’s a SA 5-speed. Is that info on

  7. D'nardo Colucci says:

    OK that didn’t work. Here’s the link to Sheldon Brown’s site:
    http://sheldonbrown.com/sturmey-archer_5-spd.html

Leave a Reply

