Bike Summit Day 3

Today was the traditional Congressional Bike Ride, which is the closing event of the National Bike Summit.  This year’s ride was a bit different as it was in honor of Representative Gabrielle Giffords and the 6 people who died in the tragic shooting in Arizona.  Giffords is an avid cyclist and a strong ally for us on the Hill. 

Can you find me?

The ride leaders took us on a tour of the new bicycle facilities in DC, including the cycletracks on 15th Ave.  I will provide a full report on those in a later post after I get back to Milwaukee.  In the meantime, I give you the photo below in case you have not yet seen these protected lanes.

The 15th Ave cycletracks run down the center of the road.

After the ride, Steve Durrant (from Alta Planning + Design) and I rode over to the Capital BikeShare warehouse.  There I met with the bikeshare staff and Charlie Denny (also from Alta) to get more information about the system and how it might work in Milwaukee.  Again, more on that later and the photo below to hold you over.

So many bikes

Finally I did a self-guided tour of the DC bike facilities that included the Chesapeake & Ohio Canal Towpath.  I started in Georgetown and pedaled north for 20 miles or so of the 185 mile gravel path.  Last year I had intended on riding the full length and camping along the route, but it rained so much the path was flooded.  This year I didn’t have time for a long ride, but I borrowed my friend Matt’s sweet converted Schwinn Breeze just to get a taste of the trail.  The canal is kept very low on water, and the trail surface was a bit damp, but I had a nice ride.  I do believe the full route to Cumberland, MD would make for a really pleasant multi-day trip, perhaps with a transit trip back. 

My rough stuff ride: A Schwinn Racer with some thoughtful upgrades

 

Ignaz, meet Tullio...

Vintage Stumpjumer fork, SWEET!

Odocoileus virginianus in Georgetown?

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Advocacy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bike Summit Day 3

  1. Russell says:

    That Schwinn Racer puts a tear in my eye.

  2. Steve says:

    Dave
    It was good to meet you at the Summit Congressional Ride. Glad you enjoyed the Alta Bikeshare tour. Looks like you had a nice ride after too. It was a nice afternoon, I should have joined you.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      It was a nice ride. I also attempted to ride the complete alphabet but couldn’t find any streets above W. Nice to meet you and thanks for the info about the bikeshare program. I did suggest to our City Engineer that we need to do a feasibility study and have a pilot with 2-4 stations. I will let you know as soon as we move forward with anything.

Leave a Reply

