Me and Ewan

OK, I am just vain enough that I couldn’t let this one pass without further public comment.  Friend Jennifer kindly mentioned Ewan McGregor and me in the same sentence.  Although not a competition, let’s compare:

If only I was allowed to bring my dog to work.

What's he got that I ain't got? It's the dog, right?

 

39-year-old Ewan’s Bicycle-3 spd Pashley Gov’nr with front rack and Brooks rear seat bag

49-year-old Dave’s Bicycle-5 spd Schwinn Super Sport with Bob Jackson rear rack and Ortleib panniers

Ewan’s outfit: classic newsboy, fisherman’s sweater, pea coat, gloves and grey double-knee Dickies

Dave’s outfit: classic flat cap, blue Oxford shirt, tan checked tie, grey cardigan, and tan double-knee Dickies.

Seems like a dead tie until you throw in Sid, Ewan’s cute dog in the front basket.   Yeah, if I only had a dog in my basket (not a euphemism) I’m sure my likeness would be spread across the fashion blogs too.

Seriously, I do think it is pretty great that he is riding around on a really sweet and practical bicycle in regular clothes. He probably just did more for sales of Pashley bicycles than all the bicycle advertising put together this year. Ewan can’t help being talented and good looking, so I won’t hold that against him. And according to Jake, he shops at Ben’s Cycle and subscribes to COG magazine.  Ewan can pedal along with me anytime. I give him props.  Nice ride Ewan!

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Bicycles, Bike clothing, Cyclechic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Me and Ewan

  1. Rob says:

    I can’t think if the last time that I read Ewan’s blog or the first time for that matter.

  2. Paula says:

    Dave, you look just as dashing as Ewan and if you need a little dog to ride in your basket I’ve got two that would fit the bill, you can borrow them anytime.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      How nice of you Paula. I actually used to ride in with my dog when I worked at the Bicycle Federation and could have my dog at the office. I only had Misha then, and she was young and energetic so she ran along side me the whole way to work, about 6 miles each way right through the city.

  3. Jim says:

    That’s a Linus Gaston, rather than a pash.

  4. Jim says:

    Right. Thinking it should be called a Poshly, then.

Leave a Reply

