52 mtg tomorrow postponed

My apologies, but when I scheduled tomorrow night’s meeting for 52, our new coalition of people who ride bikes for transportation, I forgot that I had a night meeting last night, and I work until 9pm every day from Thursday through Sunday this week.  I just can’t meet tomorrow.  I propose we reschedule the 52 meeting  for next week Weds., April 13th and hold it from 5:30pm to 7pm at the Riverwest Public House, 815 E Locust St.  This is Milwaukee’s first cooperatively owned bar.  It is non-smoking. It doesn’t serve food, but I thought we could order pizza and have it delivered.

I want to discuss a couple of things, so here is a draft agenda.  Let me know via comments below if you have something you want added:

1. Name and tag line

2. Relationship with the bike fed/non-profit status

3. Relationship with MKE BKE

4. Community bike event calendar

5. Hoan Bridge bike/ped path

Also, I did some quickie little designs for the logo.  If you have a design skill you want to share, feel free to do some designs yourself and bring them along.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Advocacy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 52 mtg tomorrow postponed

  1. Denny says:

    One bears a resemblance to the Richard Sachs logo. Coincidence or flattery?

  2. Barry Stuart says:

    I’m volunteering at the Wheel & Sprocket Bike Expo this Thursday. I’d have a schedule conflict anyway.

  3. adventure! says:

    I’m partial to the “US Route” badge, but that’s just me. And I don’t live in Milwaukee, so…

    A bar that doesn’t serve food? Damn, I’m spoiled. Here in Oregon, it is part of the liquor laws that every establishment that serves alcohol has to serve food. And if it serves spirits, a full menu.

    • daveschlabowske says:

      I’m happy to get input from outside Milwaukee on this logo thing. Thanks for reading and commenting. No offense to Oregon, but I’ll take fewer rules when it comes to bars over more rules. We certainly know how to drink in Wisconsin, and Milwaukee has a culture of tiny corner taverns in residential neighborhoods where the only food they serve is blind robbins and pickled eggs. Some neighborhood corners have three bars out of four corners.

      • adventure! says:

        We certainly know how to drink in Wisconsin…

        No argument there! 😉

        Yeah, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission is the master of arcane rules, and tends to act like an…well, this is a family friendly blog so I won’t say that here. But the “you must provide food” rule is one of the few (if not only) rule I can get behind. I know why they did it (so you have no excuse to drink on an empty stomach) and it definitely makes things easier when we go out to drink.

  4. Jason says:

    That works for me, Dave. I like the US Route badge,but i’d suggest “karate font” to make it an obvious take on the real Mccoy.
    http://www.dafont.com/karate.font?text=52

  5. Dave Reid says:

    Ok I hope to see you then.

  6. Bill Sell says:

    so very happy to see the Hoan bike path on the agenda. i cannot attend, but I will gladly help with that project.

  7. Pingback: ’52′ Bicycle Coalition Meeting on Wednesday, 4/13 | Milwaukee Bicycle Community

Leave a Reply

