Fausto Coppi was Cyclechic

I ran across this photo of Fausto Coppi, his brother and some other professional riders out for a training ride.  Back in the day, even professional racers wore regular clothes on training rides instead of their wool jersey’s and shorts.  I did not know this until I found this photo and looked into it a bit more. 

Fausto Coppi (left), his brother Serse (right) and some other professionals in their plus fours and sweaters out for a training ride. Photo from http://www.faustocoppi.it/

 I am not advocating my buddies on Velo Trocadero go quite this far, but if Luker and Vanilla promise to where wool knickers, knee socks and Berets, I might start going on the team rides again.

About daveschlabowske

Cyclechic advocate from Milwaukee
This entry was posted in Bike clothing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fausto Coppi was Cyclechic

  1. kurt says:

    I think I’d get fewer looks ‘kitted out’ than I’d get wearing those ‘regular clothes’! 🙂

    • daveschlabowske says:

      Well, I hope the looks would be nods of approval. Knickers are in with the messenger chic crowd, but they are cut more like the skinny jeans than baggy plus fours. Perhaps a confident few could rock this look and make it fashion forward.

      Who is in?

Leave a comment